Wednesday, July 6, 2011

New Chapter, New Name

I've always gone by "Maddy".

I've never really questioned it. I never really even thought about other possibilities... My full name is Madeline (Mad-i-lyn) Virginia. I could have gone by either of those. Or I could have come up with some cool nick-name. Like "Sunny" or "Shifty" or "Desk Lamp", or whatever else the kids are calling each other nowadays. I've always just been "Maddy". I was perfectly content with it. But now, I sense a change in the air.

I have only just recently realized the potential of my full name. I personally think the name "Madeline Virginia" packs a punch. It's seven syllables of epic. Soon, I will be venturing on to a new life in a faraway place where nobody knows me. I could make it whatever I want. So, I have decided to leave my old name behind. Not entirely, no. For all my old, slightly less hip friends will still call me it. But all my new acquaintances shall know me as "Madeline". It's sophisticated, no? It demands a sense of respect that the name "Maddy" just can't handle. I like it.

I'm not just going by a new name because it sounds cool. Though that IS most of the reason, it's slightly more than that. The changing of my name is a representation of leaving childhood behind. It's a new start as a (slightly) more mature, young adult. If you're about to go off into college, or about to move, or about to start a new job, try a new name. It will help to break the monotony of everyday life. And it is especially helpful in the case of needing a fresh start. So, try going by your middle name for a while. Or by your last name. Or think of a cool, hip nick-name. Live a little.

As for me, it's Madeline from now on.


Number One

Hello.

You may know me. But far more likely, you don't know me. If that is indeed the case, Hi. I'm Maddy. This is my blog.

There could be many reasons why I started this... but far more likely is that, over the long days of summer, I kept saying to myself  "....I need a hobby". With a sigh, I would say this line after realizing the activity I was doing at the moment was a complete waste of time. Activities such as watching Judge Judy 3 hours in a row, going through all the trivia cards in "Scene It: Seinfeld Edition", or attempting to read various teen vampire novels (I'll explain that last one soon enough). I also would get lost deep into the site of YouTube. One day, I came across my old Vlogs (Interested in seeing them? See the link at the bottom). Now THAT was a hobby. However. It took a lot of time and, more importantly, motivation (the majority of which I lost my senior year). So, I came to the conclusion that this, a written version, was a good compromise. It could gradually toss me back into the world of routine project, and eventually, get me back into making videos again. Maybe.

My basic plan for this thing is to log the different experiences and emotions that one goes through as they transition to college. I know...it's been done before. But maybe not quite in this way and in this perspective. We'll see.

Ah. I see you noticing my background. The good ol' flowers in a field. I don't know why, but I seem to be drawn to this image lately. Currently, it is also the background on my phone. Maybe it's me subconsciously wishing that the weather was cool enough to go enjoy said fields. But alas. According to weather.com, the temperature here is "Molten-lava-hot with 70% chance of dying". Oh, summer.

Anyways. That's the deal with everything. I hope you find my words interesting enough to read often, or at least every once in a while. If you do, pass it on to someone else. Maybe they'll like you a little more for it. Or maybe they'll like you a little less.... I guess that's the gamble in the dangerous world of internet blogging.


Here are those vlogs I promised:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eJWu_3cYjFQ&feature=channel_video_title